Why Only Some Oats Are Gluten Free

That Protein’s - Protein Porridges are gluten free. But surely all oats are gluten free - aren’t they?
This is a question often asked about oats!
Oats themselves ARE naturally gluten free BUT cross contamination of the oats can occur in the fields or during the manufacturing and packaging process.
The oats may at these points come into contact with gluten containing ingredients like wheat,barley and rye and so will no longer be gluten free.
Manufacturing gluten free oats requires specialised systems to ensure no traces of gluten are in the environment and that the oats do not become contaminated. Tests are then carried out to ensure there is no gluten in the finished product.
If you want to ensure your porridge is gluten free always check the label!

Older Post Newer Post

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published